go to main prd


The Hankook iON Race is ready for the double-header in Indonesia

2023. 05. 31

- ABB FIA Formula E World Championship heads to Asia, round 10 and 11 of season 9 takes place in Jakarta
- Hankook iON Race has shown reliable support to the drivers, enduring climate for all races so far
- Jeff Dodds will be taking over from the current Formula E boss Jamie Reigle, from 5th June

Seoul, Korea, May 31, 2023 – The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship is heading to Asia. Round 10 and 11 of Season 9 takes place from 2nd to 4th June in the Indonesian capital of Jakarta, which is located on the northwest coast of the island of Java. Following the first appearance of Formula E in the city with a population of roughly 10 million in 2022, the series now returns for a double-header, with Jakarta hosting races 10 and 11 of the season. The climate, in particular, could have a real impact on the performance of the Hankook iON Race, which has so far mastered the diverse challenges thrown at it in the tire’s first season in Formula E. “The very high temperatures around 35 degrees Celsius and humidity over 80 percent are definitely one factor that the teams must take into consideration when working with our premium product, the Hankook iON Race. In all the races so far, the tire has shown how reliably it supports the drivers,” says Hankook Communications Director Felix Kinzer.

New Zealand’s Nick Cassidy travels to Asia brimming with confidence. The driver from the Envision Racing team won the last two races in Germany and Monaco. The latter of these two victories saw him take the championship lead with 121 points. In second place, 20 points back, is German Pascal Wehrlein (TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team). Lurking in third with 96 points to his name is Britain’s Jake Dennis (Avalanche Andretti Formula E).

The layout of the Jakarta International e-Prix Circuit, which was built specially for the Formula E races, is inspired by the Kuda horse and is driven clockwise. As well as the 600-meter start/finish straight, the 2.370-kilometer circuit also features slow, medium and very fast corners. Turn 1 is a long right-hander, which offers multiple overtaking opportunities. The hairpin, turn 13, is the hardest braking zone on the circuit and is followed by a dogleg to the right. Turn 16 is banked on the outside and is the activation zone for the Attack Mode.

The first free practice session will take place on Friday, June 02, from 15:30 - 16:00 (local time), with a second free practice session taking place from 08:10 – 08:40 on Saturday, June 03. Qualifying follows from 10:40 – 11:55 on the same day, and Race 10 will start at 15:04. Then, the third free practice will take place on Sunday, June 04, from 08:10 – 08:40. Qualifying follows from 10:40 – 11:55 on the same day, and race 11 at 15:04.

From 5th June, English businessman Jeff Dodds will take over from the current Formula E boss Jamie Reigle, who has led the series since September 2019 and will take on an advisory role until the end of the current season. Jeff Dodds comes from British telecommunications company Virgin Media O2. “Formula E is a unique platform, which combines cutting-edge technology with the most sustainable racing in the world and also offers endless potential for innovations and positive changes. There is a world-class team in Formula E, and I am looking forward to leading it into the next chapter, as we shape the future of motorsport and redefine what is possible,” said Dodds.

Reserve driver David Beckmann replaces Germany’s André Lotterer in Jakarta, as the Porsche driver prepares for his LMDH outing in Le Mans. “I am very grateful for the opportunity to stand in for André and represent the Avalanche Andretti Formula E team in Jakarta,” said the 23-year-old German from Iserlohn. Beckmann gained experience with the Hankook iON Race during this year’s Rookie Test in Berlin.

In Jakarta, the FIA initiative Girls on Track and official presenter Hankook will again give girls and young women the opportunity to find out more about working in the world of motorsport. Roughly 400 participants will take up the offer in Indonesia. It is also possible to take part online. The program’s goal is to encourage gender equality in an innovative, committed and positive manner in motorsport.

Frenchman Jean-Éric Vergne is the first recipient of the new accolade “ABB Driver of Progress”. DS Penske driver Vergne started the race in Monaco from 22nd place on the grid. The 33-year-old showed plenty of fighting spirit and, thanks in part to the very good performance of the Hankook iON Race, managed to climb 15 places before crossing the finish line seventh. The 20,000 spectators in Monaco witnessed a total of 116 overtaking maneuvers from the Formula E drivers.

Celebrities, horsepower and trophies – the Monaco E-Prix added plenty of glamour to the Formula E calendar. At the end of a thrilling race, watched by a host of VIPs, the winner’s trophy was presented to New Zealander Nick Cassidy of the Envision Racing team. You can watch the most colorful, exciting and impressive scenes from Monaco here in the Hankook Highlight Clip.

As well as on YouTube, you can also find regular news and information on Hankook’s involvement in Formula E on Twitter (@hankook_sport) and Instagram (@hankooktire.motorsports).

You can find the latest Hankook Press Kit for the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, looking ahead to the coming race in Jakarta here.