go to main prd


Hankook Best Pit Stop Award presented for tenth time – BMW Team RBM wins coveted trophy

2020. 11. 19

Hankook launched the Best Pit Stop Award when it joined the DTM in 2011. Since then, the premium tire maker has used the award to honor the pit crew that completed the fastest tire changes over the course of the season. This year, the coveted trophy was presented for the tenth time. The recipients: BMW Team RBM and its driver Philipp Eng.

Neu-Isenburg, Germany, November 19, 2020 – The battle for the 2020 Best Pit Stop Award went right down to the final round of this season’s DTM. BMW Team RBM travelled to Hockenheim with a lead of just eight points at the top of the table. However, Philipp Eng’s mechanics showed no sign of nerves at the final round of the international touring car series, picking up 25 points for the fastest pit stop of the weekend to win the tenth edition of the Hankook Best Pit Stop Award. After four successes, two second places and one third place, BMW Team RBM ended the season with 151 points to its name – 33 points more than fellow BMW crew BMW Team RMG, with Timo Glock at the wheel. Second place in Hockenheim was enough to earn WRT Team Audi Sport, with Ferdinand Habsburg, third place overall.

BMW’s third victory in total in the Best Pit Stop Award ended the winning run of Audi Sport Team Phoenix. Mike Rockenfeller’s pit crew had received the award from premium tire maker Hankook in each of the past three years. Manfred Sandbichler, Hankook Motorsport Director Europe: “Over the course of the entire DTM season, it was clear to see just how important the pit stops are. With the strong field so evenly matched, the tenths of a second that can be gained or lost during a tire change can make the difference between victory and defeat. With the Best Pit Stop Award, Hankook is recognizing the efforts of the mechanics in the pit lane. We not only congratulate BMW Team RBM on its victory, but all the teams, who have all done a great job.”

Winners of the Hankook Best Pit Stop Award
2020 BMW Team RBM
2019 Audi Sport Team Phoenix
2018 Audi Sport Team Phoenix
2017 Audi Sport Team Phoenix
2016 BMW Team MTEK
2015 Audi Sport Team Abt
2014 Mercedes-AMG Team HWA
2013 BMW Team Schnitzer
2012 Audi Sport Team Abt
2011 Audi Sport Team Phoenix